A Tribute

7 Aug

I didn’t know him too well, but his death has left me sapped of energy. My immediate family shall be personally indebted to him in more ways than one: he introduced my dad to my mum šŸ™‚

Some people are born with extra-large hearts. They live incredibly generous lives, leave an indelible mark on countless others. My Granduncle (who I called ‘Another Granddad’ in Bengali) passed away yesterday morning, after a lengthy battle with old age diseases. Even in the ICU, he was always thinking of other people: he would ask how they were, whether they wanted tea and apologise for putting them through the trouble of visiting. We talk politics, but he lived it. He adopted an extremely poor twelve year old boy in his youth, and today that ‘boy’ is forty plus and his family was my granduncle’s family. He was a great man. I’m inspired by his heart as I know others will always be. He gave chhappad phad ke but so silently that nobody outside his adopted family knew about it. If this isn’t greatness, I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

