Unexpected little surprises

1 Dec

A little after noon, I got a call today from an old school friend. She was in town for a couple of days, would I like to meet up?

I had just sat down at my computer, preparing to work on my upcoming presentation. My plan had been to make a fair bit of progress today. However, the last three times she had passed through Calcutta, I had ended up cancelling on her at the last moment for something urgent that had come up. It would just be rude and give the wrong message if I begged off, again. Besides, the day was too nice to be spent indoors.

So I went, got lost on the way, and discovered a beautiful stretch of wild and overgrown greens between the metro stations at Maidan and Park Street. It looked surreal, bordered on one side by office buildings and commuters and on the other side, who knows? I couldn’t see across it. So beautifully wild.

DSC_0309

About a year and a half ago, a friend and I went on our first city photo walk. On Little Russel Street, we crossed this place which caught our attention with its odd combination of offerings. Fate brought us together again today. My school friend chose this place to wait for me, as I attempted to find my way to her. Drive Inn has a well kept secret too-besides food and used cars, it also offers books! It had what looked like a fabulous little book shop which also sold some excellent black and white photographs. I didn’t get to explore it today, because it shut early. However, I’ll be back!

On our way back out of little Russel Street, I also finally located a furniture auction house! We walked in for a quick recce, and OH BOY 😀 It’s a little treasure trove. Housed in a shed, dusty and crowded with a haphazard collection of antique furniture (and things that came with the furniture such as remnants of the previous owners’ personal library) gramophone players, old geysers, clothes, and random bric-a-brac, this place screams discover me! to new comers to the city. Again, I’ll be back!

3 Responses to “Unexpected little surprises”

  1. sillymexox0 December 22, 2012 at 3:26 am #

    Such funny, yet amazing discoveries are made in my city, too. 🙂 I’m from India too. Live in the south, TN. 🙂

    • astudentinkolkata January 4, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

      Hi! So sorry, I just noticed your comment landed up in my spam folder, for some reason.

      Thanks for reading! And yes, I love it when cities and towns yield their little treasure chests of secrets!:) I love to read of them, so if you write about it, you know you have the attention of atleast one reader!:)

      • astudentinkolkata January 4, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

        Just to clarify: I meant if you write about the secrets of whereever you live in TN, I’d love to read!

Leave a Reply

