Choices, Choices…

22 Dec

And I pick Colin Firth, now that I’m made my way through most of Alan Rickman’s films. I’ve woken up to his skills post-The King’s Speech. That movie surprised me; a movie about a speech? I thought. How awfully boring. But when I watched it, I was blown away; It was fantastic, and moved me to moist eyes.

His Mr. Darcy didn’t do much for me, in the BBC production of Pride and Prejudice (man, what a looong wait it was before we could finally get hold of a library copy to screen in our little old English Department…). He didn’t match my idea of Austen’s Darcy. Neither did Rhett or Scarlett of the films match the book version of Gone With The Wind. With the Harry Potter films (which I love), I’ve learnt one thing: films that adapt books have to be viewed as separate entities and only then do they add to the reading experience.

But, I deviate. As I was saying, I choose to make my way through Colin Firth movies now, because so far, the man seems to decide like Mr. Rickman does: well.

Right now, loading on Youtube is a film called ‘The Secret Laughter of Women’. It’s supposed to be one of the more obscure of his films. The advantage of obscure films: you manage to find them on Youtube.

Speaking of films, I came across a surprising one called ‘The Man from Earth‘ on my brother’s hard disk. Having just finished with The Big December Presentation (which went surprisingly well, by the way!) I was on a movie/book hunt and I started to watch it. It was surprising not in name but in form. I was kind of fascinated in how the entire movie pretty much takes place within a drawing room. This kind of a setting is more common in plays than in movies. In fact, I can’t remember any other movie I have seen in which the entire cast stays put in a room (almost) for 87 minutes. It must have taken a lot of guts to attempt this. The plot was, again, surprisingly fascinating. It hinged on an outrageous premise, which somehow didn’t end up sounding too silly.

Also speaking of choices: here’s a prayer that the world chooses to pray: for Newtowns past and present, for the girl who was savagely assaulted on a Delhi Bus and victims of sexual violence, past and present.

2 Responses to “Choices, Choices…”

  1. countingducks December 31, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    I’m a great fan of “Gone with the Wind”, which I watched again only a few days ago, and of Colin Firth. I don’t know the other films you mention, but I will try and look them up. My heart does out to the lady from Delhi. What an appalling thing to happen. lastly, I wish you a very happy new year and it is a pleasure to have discovered your Blog in 2012

    • astudentinkolkata January 1, 2013 at 12:26 am #

      Thank you, counter of ducks and likewise! 🙂 Have a happy 2013!

Leave a Reply

