Happy New Year, folks!

2 Jan

Because it doesn’t matter if it’s 2012 or 2013 or 2014. A new year is a new year, an imagined transition into new possibilities and opportunities and experiences. A do-over. Or a do-more-er. I learnt a lot from you 2012. And now I’m excited about what 2013 will have for me to learn 🙂

With a bowl-full of popcorn, half a tandoori chicken and a mug of ginger-honey-green tea I set myself up for line of movies and 2013. Sadly, I fell asleep at 11.45 PM, only to come awake at 12.15AM. Is this deeply symbolic? If I surrender to Midnight’s Children, the novel I am reading right now, I would say yes and spend fruitless hours contemplating what exactly.

But, the first two thirds of the novel were a lot more engaging than the last third, which I have spent a few days ignoring. Even good writing can lose lustre with too much self-indulgence and visions of grandiosity. And my puny little life isn’t majestic enough to warrant deep symbolism of a missed half hour.

There is something about self-indulgence…something toxic. I feel this most when I indulge in too many movies. Or books. Fiction is addictive and addiction distracts. And as I spend the second consecutive day of 2013 nursing a cold, ginger infused and bed-ridden, all this and more floating half-thoughts poke at the fog of this self-same toxic indulgence that I allowed myself to slip into for a ‘break’ post-presentation and leads me to this-

My New Year Resolutions. Yes, I’m finally one of those people.

  1. Less sleep, obsessive, obsessive sleep! in my life. Sleep is wasted time that could instead be spent in prayer and meditation.
  2. Less indulgence of the tongue. So I live in Calcutta, the city with a million gastronomic delights that even a student can afford. So my biggest indulgence always has been food. So what? It’s time to tame this uncontrollable urge to eat my way to temporary pleasure. I’m after bigger goals.
  3. No more movie downloads! It’s not that I think it is stealing (I’m still undecided on what I think of copyright and intellectual property) but that I end up obsessively downloading and watching good movies, crap movies, so-so movies-too many movies! And that’s the part I am currently concerned about. And I know I should really take a stance on so-called digital piracy, but the issues involved are so many that I’m just not sure which thread to pull to unravel which argument. If I think torrents are stealing, do I think photocopying is too? Where does one draw the line? I don’t know. So as far as possible, I’ll just stick to this: where possible, I will ask for permission from the author or creator of a piece that I’m viewing or sharing, but I will not (can not) do so when the say over a work lies not with the author (who is the author? Who owns her thoughts, she or the teachers, friends books etc. that she’s read over her life? You see? Slippery Slope AND a spiders web. Atleast for me.) but with some corporate entity premised on profit.
  4.  And, most importantly, going deeper in God.

Happy New Year!:)

2 Responses to “Happy New Year, folks!”

  1. countingducks January 29, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

    This was amazing to me. I’ve never been to India, although I am a fan of some Bollywood films which, in the main portray a country very different to this. I just loved this tour with your commentary and photographs. Cab we have more please. It’s such a treat

    • astudentinkolkata January 30, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

      Thank you, glad you enjoyed the post. 🙂 I’m discovering Calcutta myself, so the photos shall keep on coming.

Leave a Reply

