My personal New Year

13 Jan

Was yesterday, 12 January. Last year, on this day, I made my way to the Yogoda Math at Dakshineshwar for the first time after moving to Cal, and kept going back. It was good to go again yesterday.

I’ve been having a lot of fun with my phone camera lately. It’s 3.2 megapixels, which lets me form images that are clear enough to tell a story, and because it comes packed in an unobtrusive everyday phone, it lets me shoot images that I miss with my Nikon D5000. So I now have a folder where the chronicles of the phone cam are stored. Here’s some of them.

Image

Image

Image

Shots of the Howrah Bridge, taken while on the bridge. And a Howrah wholesale flower market, immediately below the bridge. Not THE Howrah Wholesale Flower Market, which is further ahead, and much bigger. This is an excellent place to well, pick up flowers, and to get great deals on decorators. Home also to very friendly hawkers.

ImageImage

The New Town City Centre, also known as City Centre 2. One thing I love in Calcutta is the public love for art. You see road side sculptures everywhere, and people love coming up with wacky designs for residential overhead tanks. I’ve seen a matka with a coconut, a full size truck, an aeroplane and a tortoise so far. These two are the second lot of sculptures I’ve seen in shopping centres so far. The other is a giant, upside down spiderman on a smallish, shabby shopping complex in Gariahat. Also, the security staff at City Centre 2, with a very straight face, refer to its logo as Mortein. It still cracks me up (it does look egggzacly like the Mortein kachhua :D).

ImageImage This is the railway station at Dakshineshwar. It’s been a while since I’ve seen green and red flags being used as a signalling system, so ofcourse I whipped out the phonecam šŸ˜› These men would work on the tracks in between trains and when the Sealdah bound local came slowly chugging in, the man with the flags hollered for them to move off and waved his flags at the train driver.

Image Image

ImageImageImage

Some more random images. I love the stuff that buses and trucks have written on them. Sometimes they are really sad, like the inscription on a truck door asking ‘when will you come home?’

Ambassadors are one of my favourite cars. They are big and have royal, comfy seats and are epynomous with taxis in Cal. Sometimes, they also come in shocking pink paintwork, which is awesome. Sadly, they are almost out of production. So it was great seeing that they are still being used to teach driving!

Deepa Dasmunshi, the rising star of Congress.

The Portugese Church near Barabazar.

And, the intriguingly named ‘White Welfare Society’ šŸ˜€

2 Responses to “My personal New Year”

  1. countingducks January 13, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    This was a treat for someone like me has never been to Calcutta ( as we spell it here ). You camera and words, between them gave me a great sense of being on the streets with you and enjoying the tour. Lovely stuff. More Please

    • astudentinkolkata January 14, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

      Thanks for your comment, I am looking forward to incorporating more street snaps in posts here and on my other blog šŸ™‚

      We spell it ‘Calcutta’ here too šŸ™‚ Well, officially its Kolkata, but everyone still calls it Calcutta.

Leave a Reply

