A lovely day

14 Jan

And, suddenly, it seems possible that I might be headed to the Maha Kumbh Mela this year! It worked out very accidentally: I wasn’t even aware it was Maha Kumbh this year, had I known, I would have made sure I had plans to visit. For quite some time now, I’ve nurtered a wish to attend atleast one Mela. And as the Maha Kumbha comes only once every  144 years, I’m sure as hell not making it to the next one 😛

I’m not sure what it is I hope to find there: I know I’m not going there because I think a holy dip will free me of all my karma. I’m not even planning on taking a dip: the water is freezing, filthy, and one needs to do a lot more than just wet themselves in order to find God 🙂 No, I’m just going there to, I don’t know, soak up the spiritual vibrations I guess 🙂 Anything more would be a gift.

In other matters, I got stood up by my fieldwork appointment at noon today. It’s now on for tomorrow. With an unexpected free day, I ended up going to a talk at the Centre on a poet called Lalon Fakir. The gentleman presenting comes from a performance studies background and it was very stimulating for me to observer his methodology: using performance to feed into and create an academic text. By which I mean that he performs Lalon Fakir’s songs to arrive at an understanding of who Lalon Fakir was, since the man did not leave behind a history filled with facts. In his death especially, he seems to be surrounded by many myths. And as a post-modernist, the presenter delights in non-facts and myths and laughs at ‘the truth’. I hadn’t heard of Lalon Fakir before I saw the notification for the event, so the content part was de-contextualised for me. Maybe some of my questions, like how one can read, as the presenter was doing, the political Lalon (strong critic of caste and class) separately from the other Lalons (spiritual and philosophical), would have been answered if I knew more.

It’s always good to know more!:)

 

2 Responses to “A lovely day”

  1. countingducks January 14, 2013 at 11:24 pm #

    Needless to say I hav’nt heard of Lalon Fakir before, and I’m wondering if it was him you were interested in, or was it just a sort of lecture you stumbled on given you had some free time. The Mela thing sounds very interesting although, like you I would be worried about the sanitary aspects of the water. Having said that, it is possible that the “vibe” could be amazing, and provide some rich memories for you. I hope so

  2. astudentinkolkata January 20, 2013 at 1:00 am #

    A bit of both. I had free time, remembered there was a lecture on Lalon that day and I’ve been very curious about Baul music since I’ve come to Kolkata, and Fakirs and Bauls have some sort of connection that I still don’t know much about. I hadn’t heard of Lalon till I saw the notification up on the notice board earlier last week.

    And with my grandmother’s diagnosis, I don’t know whether we can go to the Kumbha Mela anymore. The coming few days will tell us more…

Leave a Reply

