1 Nov

It’s time to retire the shorts, for autum-winter is here.

The last quarter of the year has such a festive feel to it. October onwards we go through Durga Puja, Eid, Diwali and Kali Puja, and soon it will be Christmas and the new year will be upon us. The good thing about being officially a ‘secular’ nation- secular defined not as a distance from all religions, but an acceptance of all- is that we get a lot of holidays! I’d miss this very much were I to ever not live in India. <–And that, I hope, shall never come to pass.

It’s been a month of Delhi. One of my resolutions for 2013 was to reduce my extreme need for sleep and naps. Delhi has shown me that I can do with six hours of sleep quite happily. Waking up at 5.30 is not the end of the world, 😀 The body really is subservient to the mind.

The mind is the ground where all the big boys and girls play. I’d be lying if I said I was done disciplining mine. It’s from moment to moment, day to day I exist, trying to the best of my ability to surrender all thought, all action, all effort to that most beloved non-being, God. It’s a fight of the twos, really.

Battling dualities. Negotiating opposing pulls. Struggling to unite the self with Self.

Between Godly behaviour and human behaviour.

Choices, basically 🙂

Right now, right this moment, is the choice of whether or not worry about the fact that I have a report to compile by tomorrow. What I had two days for, I now have one day for, thanks to the sore throat that kept me home today. As also, a choice of whether or not to make myself anxious about the fact that I really haven’t contributed anything much to the organisation I’m volunteer-working for right now. I’ve certainly taken much from it, directly and indirectly, but from my end? They’ve not really got much. Except for the pleasure of my company every day B-)

Meh. And I do have the choice of reminding myself that it’s the job of the mind to de-stabilise my spiritual practice until I’m fully in God.

Here’s to more meditation. *Metaphoric clink*

2 Responses to “”

  1. Peter Wells aka Countingducks November 1, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

    You think deeply, reflectively and with great and almost delicious clarity if I may say so. This is why I always enjoy your posts, and the written record of your reflections they contain. This one is no exception. Here to, summer is a memory now, and autumn, and increasingly winter are making the presence and power known to us. A change of season and a change of mood

    • astudentinkolkata November 2, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

      Happy winter to you and your loved ones, and your book 🙂

Leave a Reply

