Registered!

4 Dec

Two months later, I’m back in Calcutta and officially registered as a PhD candidate B-) For the next three years, the state pays me to do research. Can I say that again? 😀 I’m being PAID to research 😀 I could never have seen myself making this choice even a year back.

It’s been two months of much craziness. Amongst other things, I’ve found out that twelve hour days and six day weeks will not kill me. Working hard is not scary, and the brain likes it! I think I’ve been functioning on adrenaline for at least a month and a half and my body has not yet figured out how to get out of the adrenaline mode. This hyper-activeness has not been good for at least one friendship.

After four cities in 2 months, I’m a little travelled out. The next month is going to be for staying put in Calcutta, taking up three-four projects and figuring out where 2014 takes me! 

 

4 Responses to “Registered!”

  1. Peter Wells aka Countingducks December 5, 2013 at 1:15 am #

    Well done you. So pleased for you. I would be so pleased if you pop over to my Blog and ‘Like; my new FB page to do with my upcoming book. You’ve always been so nice an supportive, and it makes the difference to have you on this journey

    • astudentinkolkata December 6, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

      I followed the progress of your book on your blog (nice cover!). Would absolutely love to ‘like’ the FB page, which I visited. The only thing is, I try to be as inactive on FB as possible, for privacy concerns. (I know, I know…why don’t I just deactivate, right? I stay on for the updates put up on some pages, updates that I would otherwise not have access to…)

      • Peter Wells aka Countingducks December 6, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

        That’s fair enough and I thoroughly understand. The great thing about Blogging is, that it is a community based on sensibility, and not age or wealth or geography and in those terms I feel you to be a relative of mine. As a relative I find your support encouraging, but I thoroughly understand the wish for privacy, and I respect it. Your well- being and happiness are always my first concern, and the book saga comes some way behind it

      • astudentinkolkata December 6, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

        Thank you for understanding 🙂

        Please know, though, that I’m very much rooting for the book. Because in the few months since I’ve started reading your blog, I have come to deeply appreciate your writing style and content. I hope it does very, very well 🙂

Leave a Reply

