Right then, back to work!

4 Jan

This is usually me over the month of December. Sloth, food, marathon naps and a personal aesthetic that embraces the minimal grooming look.

And then January rolls around, and all the fun (that begins with the first of the many festivals starting October) is over, and it’s time to brush the cookie crumbs away, drag a comb through the hair, evict all the nesting birds in there, put on some real clothes, and sit on a real chair and write out a real to-do list (note to self: ‘make brownies’ does not count).

Right. Back to business!

Keeping that ethic in mind, I eschewed an afternoon nap in favour of writing a few long-pending applications, taking care of some long-pending bank work (it’s impossible to feel like an adult till one opens a bank account unaided), and stuff. Now to brush off the mental-cobwebs and try really hard to publish. This year. Just writing this sets off a voice in my head that goes “oh maaan, MUST I??”

Sigh. I must try, atleast. That, and learning to pitch proposals for conferences. I mean, I’ve read stuff in journals and heard papers in conferences that have been absolutely mediocre. So this stuff is less about dazzling brilliance (although one sees a bit of that too, now and then) and more about getting into a certain frame of mind. I could do that.

I mean, a growing pile of rejection slips would just put me in very august company, wouldn’t it, as far as writers and writing go? 😉

4 Responses to “Right then, back to work!”

  1. Peter Wells aka Countingducks January 9, 2014 at 5:47 pm #

    Firstly, I am a closet fan of the Simpson’s and I’ve a feeling I even know the episode that picture comes from. As he’s lying there in delicious untended squalor he says, “This is the best day of my life” which made me laugh out loud when I heard it. I know how you feel, I’m just facing up to the fact that if I don’t do something, nothing will get done, so work, routine and deadlines beckons. Welcome back to the real world. Best of luck to you with everything. You are so bright and balanced I cannot believe that it will be too long before a good offer comes your way

  2. klarapopkin January 10, 2014 at 9:03 am #

    I mean, I’ve read stuff in journals and heard papers in conferences that have been absolutely mediocre. So this stuff is less about dazzling brilliance (although one sees a bit of that too, now and then) and more about getting into a certain frame of mind. I could do that.

    Yes, you could do that. I’m sure you could do the dazzling brilliance bit too 🙂

    I really enjoy reading your writing. Descriptions in paragraph 2 had me smiling and I laughed out loud @ feeling like an adult when you open a bank account unaided.

Leave a Reply

