Scraps

12 Mar

The rickshaw that took me from the metro station to the library today morning had its seat upholstered with a map of the world. So, I kindofsortof sat on the world, and I didn’t even have to threaten any nations for it 😛

Even before that, there was an old woman on the bus, all wrinkly and balding, who had painted her finger nails in the happiest and brightest of pinks. That made my morning and I had to share it with a friend via sms.

                                                                                            —

“What was it you said your mother had instead of a memory, which helped her put up with your father?”

“A forgettery.”

“I need one of those as well”

-from Joseph Anton

That was clever. But I think what we really need is a forgiverry. Much more effective, no?

                                                                                             —

I’ve grown up reading about people, kids usually, sliding down banisters. For the first time today, I actually saw someone do that 🙂 A fully grown adult man, happily sliding down three flights of stairs at a metro station. It was hard to hold my smile in.

6 Responses to “Scraps”

  1. Peter Wells aka Countingducks March 18, 2014 at 5:55 pm #

    I love these observations, and the people like you, who find nourishment in those little moments many others do jot notice. On a personal note, my book is available on Amazon now, and I’d love you to have a look at it, and tell me what you thought. ( gulp)

    • astudentinkolkata March 18, 2014 at 6:04 pm #

      Hello Countingducks 🙂 Thank you for your comment. I did click on the amazon link to your book, but it took me to the non-Indian Amazon. The Indian Amazon does not stock it as yet (I can only pay cash-on-delivery, owing to student status of my financial instruments:)). I would have loved to have read it. Perhaps, soon. Do you know if it will be made available in other countries?

      • Peter Wells aka Countingducks March 18, 2014 at 6:21 pm #

        I’ve had an idea. I you leave a comment on my Blog, I will then have your email address and I can send you a PDF of the book. If you tell other people about it, and they buy it, that would be very nice, but whatever, I love what you say about things and that is more important than money in my book

      • astudentinkolkata March 18, 2014 at 10:52 pm #

        Sounds good 🙂

      • Peter Wells aka Countingducks March 18, 2014 at 10:53 pm #

        Brilliant. Comment away, and I’ll send you a copy immediately. You are the only person I have done this for, so that is a mark of your standing in my eyes

      • astudentinkolkata March 18, 2014 at 10:59 pm #

        I’m honoured 🙂

Leave a Reply

