Unexpected surprises

3 Apr

There I was, moping about at home (escaping the library and my supervisor) having desolate thoughts about how my PhD work seems to not be taking off at all, and stuff, when…

Mail in inbox.

My first paper acceptance B-) It felt so good that I read the first two lines and called my Dad to share the news. And then my mom. And then my brother. And then a friend. And then another friend. And then my grandmom.

Yeah, I got stupidly happy. Because a) they were supposed to notify us in February, and not having heard anything from them, I assumed my proposal had not made the cut. And b) this is my first acceptance ever B-) The start of a sterling career in academics B-)

HAHA. Ok, not. I’m not seeking a career in academics, sterling, or not.

The point being that blessings come to the undeserving at unexpected times.

I’m sure stage next will be me panicking about writing a competent paper (I’ll be using mostly material from my MPhil dissertation), but for tonight, I just savour this 🙂

One Response to “Unexpected surprises”

  1. Peter Wells aka Countingducks April 3, 2014 at 7:41 pm #

    Just enjoy the moment of well deserved happiness. It’s lovely to read about

Leave a Reply

