Tickticktick…

12 Jun

Oh look, it’s the middle of the year already. Will I ever stop getting surprised at the weird pace at which time moves- so fast and so slow…

On Sunday I leave for Delhi and on Monday I fly out to the conference venue. Is my paper done? Um, not quite. Given that this will be the first paper I’ve presented to an external audience since 2007, I am f.l.i.p.p.i.n.g. out. I am oh so scared that the audience will find my paper to be badly argued and lacking rigour- or worse, underwhelming- that I have spent more than my fair share of time lying on my bed and staring at the walls, panicking. I am petrified that my paper will not match up to the expected standard and that they will regret paying so much money to fly me out, house me and feed me for three days. And as four other people who have been at/are presently at my institution will also be presenting, I won’t even have the luxury of privacy while being humiliated.  Sniffle.

On a more rational note: the above will probably not happen. People are usually kind in their reception of papers and presentations, unless something absolutely preposterous is being claimed. And also, I’ve had two of my Professors and a friend look at my paper. Their feedback has been positive and their suggestions very helpful.

I sit here now, in the reading room of the library, attempting to swallow my panic and work those suggestions into a shorter draft that I will pull from the paper to actually present. For one and a half hours I’ve basically been staring at a blank screen. Time to get to work!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Tickticktick…”

  1. Peter Wells aka Countingducks June 12, 2014 at 7:22 pm #

    Very best of luck to you. I don’t know much about it, but I’m very impressed you are reading a paper. I do wonder if you ever had time to read my book

    • astudentinkolkata June 12, 2014 at 7:25 pm #

      Thanks 🙂

      Yes I did, and I enjoyed it very much. I had emailed you my thoughts after reading it, remember?:)

Leave a Reply

