A temporary re-alignment of property values Or MYY PRECIOUSSSS!

17 Nov

Last week, I was in Ranchi attending a meeting called by an organisation I am studying for my PhD. At the end of the second day, everybody set off for a bit of touristing and we climbed nearly 400 stairs to a hill-top temple. The view was nice, the breeze-with its promise of winter-was precious in view of my upcoming return to (still) warm Calcutta and chatting with the others made for a pleasant hour. Such a pleasant hour, in fact, that when it was time to go, I climbed down 20 of those 400 stairs before realising Iโ€™d forgotten my backpack. My notes! I cried (and not- my wallet! My laptop! My camera! My recording device!) and ran back up.

Today, as I was climbing down the library stairs, looking at the mosaic-covered surface (very commonly used as a cheaper substitute for tiles or marble) I was thinking about buildings, quality of construction and what would happen if the library were to collapse whilst I was away from it and my things were still on a table in the reading room. My notes! I realised I would cry in my mind (not my laptop! All those books! Or even, all those dead people! :P)

And that is when I realised that I finally have an answer to that favourite hypothetical situation: if your house caught fire and you could ONLY bring one thing, what would you bring? Why, this dull, boring, brown leather-bound notebook that holds all my field notes from August 2014 onwards, ofcourse. Because for everything else, thereโ€™s Mastercard ๐Ÿ˜›

(Also, from now on? My laptop and external hard-disk are always going to be separated by a healthy geographical distance-so if one goes, a backup (of my work) remains. And a safe deposit box or three might house a photocopy of all my notes. Excessive? That word don’t exist in the dictionary of a first year PhD student B-))

2 Responses to “A temporary re-alignment of property values Or MYY PRECIOUSSSS!”

  1. Peter Wells aka Countingducks December 1, 2014 at 3:16 pm #

    I can hardly imagine what climbing all those steps again must have been like. I would certainly have been crying, along with wheezing and lamenting my bad luck or memory failure. I hope the PhD is going well ๐Ÿ™‚

    • astudentinkolkata December 5, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

      Thank you. Not sure how it is going in terms of output, but I think I’m enjoying it ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

