A Luddite’s review of touch technology

17 Feb

It is a quarter past ten at night (or thereabouts) and instead of reading a scholarly essay I have decided to tell a story in memes. Because, memes.

This used to be me. Except I did use the music and occasionally checked my email.

(Image credit: from here)

However, this was never me.

Not just because I don’t as yet have a PhD (I do have an MPhil, if someone’s counting…) but because I like to know well what technology I do use. Not to brag or anything, but I can turn on a projector.

This WAS me.

(Image credit: this here)

(Image credit: this here)

Because, aren’t we too connected already? And who needs to be so impatient to look up everything on le Google now so they can do this:

(Image from here)

 

And why be on whatsapp when there is email and there are sms and call packs? Whai? I was on the side of the ‘normal’ phones.

(Image from here)

Besides,

 

 

Notice the frequent appearance of Nokia phones. There is a theme here.

Because events occurred in the world of PhD that necessitated this:

I’m briefly relocating for four months on a fellowship, and the need to be in touch with family and friends on a student budget suddenly trumped my commitment to the Luddite sisterhood.

There was no mad scramble and tearing of hair to decide between the ten million options in the smartphone market. The choice was (has always been) clear. (Did you pay attention at meme#6?)

 

One last meme, I promise.

(Click here for source)

Yup, I bought the Lumia 535. Because who buys an android system? πŸ˜›

Okay, so my anti-android stance owes its origin to the few times I’ve fiddled with my mother’s android tab and phone. I dislike the interface, do not find it user friendly, and it drives me out of my mind that the only way I can sign out of gmail is by deleting cookies. That though, could be a bug and not android’s fault.

My brother has a Lumia 520 and I found the interface to be a lot more user-friendly. So I bought a Lumia 535. And I have to say I don’t know why people crib about Windows phones, atleast not yet. Yes, there are more apps in the android universe because it is open source and there is no quality control. But I’m never going to use my phone as a primary computing device. I’m fine with the few useful apps and some useless but fun apps (who doesn’t want a section of a piano on their screen? πŸ˜€ ).

The migration to touch was hilarious at first. I wasa senfong teztsΒ  liuke thjis for a while. The Lumia 535 does have a few touch issues-sometimes you have to tap multiple times for the touch to register and sometimes it can be super-sensitive. I’ve ended up accidentally ‘clicking’ on stuff whilst scrolling through lists many times already. But honestly-it is not tear-your-hair frustrating. It happens maybe 30% of the time. Which could be a lot for people who use their phones very frequently. I don’t.

What I love is the ease with which one can see all the running apps, switch between them and close them. And the battery. With low use I’ve gone 2 days with a single charge. I can live with this. Besides-the connectivity provided by whatsapp is kind of fun ^_^

I did have a more entertaining post planned regarding the migration to a smartphone, entirely at my expense. But it is now a quarter past eleven (or thereabouts) and I must shut down for the day.

I hope this doesn’t lie in the distant future…

https://yilinhang.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/before-smartphone-meme.jpg?w=500&h=369

(From this blog via Google)

 

 

2 Responses to “A Luddite’s review of touch technology”

  1. klarapopkin February 23, 2015 at 5:15 pm #

    R O F L!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Hey so I’m subscribed to your blog but somehow I haven’t been getting email notifications about your new posts!

    These memes are sooo you πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I’m glad you’re enjoying your smartphone!!

    • astudentinkolkata February 26, 2015 at 6:18 pm #

      (I must add here that I now carry a ‘spare’ phone at all times- my older trusty Nokia :P. Because I know the battery will last forever and ever for emergencies :P)

Leave a Reply

