Notes from away

6 Apr
  • Migrating your meditation and spiritual practice across countries need not be a seamless process. That took me by surprise.
  • It’s time to learn how to cook. Like, really cook. Not throw-together-vegetables-into-a-stir-fry-and-make-some-white-sauce-to-go-with-it cook. Also not spend-hours-making-that-dish kind of cook. More like, takes-half-an-hour-(max)-to-cook-and-makes-tongue-and-belly-happy. Which, sigh, might mean I finally learn to cook chicken and fish. Somehow colder weather makes me want to eat chicken and fish. (I will not lie: had there been good takeaway options for the above said, I would have happily continued as before. But the chicken in the shawarma here tastes…different.)

Edit: And after writing the above, I found myself contemplating dinner. I could either cook, or eat bread. I’m going with bread, and telling myself it is so the massive loaf I bought does not go mouldy.

Another edit: For my own record, I am pleased to add, I did cook after all. I stuck broccoli in the oven and roasted it to go with the bread.

2 Responses to “Notes from away”

  1. Peter Wells aka Countingducks April 12, 2015 at 11:48 pm #

    OK, somehow you decided, or it was decided, that you go to Germany which is amazing. My youngest daughter, who is also studying for her PhD also went to Germany for a year and really loved it. She keeps good friends from her time there. I hope you find the whole thing as nourishing and rewarding as she did.

    • astudentinkolkata April 13, 2015 at 1:48 am #

      Lol, ‘it was decided’ 😛 Thank you for your wishes; my interactions with German people (although it is never a good idea to club a nationality and generalise!) have been warm and lovely so far. I am looking forward to gaining more than just two chapters and a paper from this experience 🙂

Leave a Reply

