The Sunday Diaries-1

12 Apr

Many of the mommy blogs I read speak of blogging being a way to keep record. Some of them print out a year’s worth of blogging and turn it into a book. As I sip on honey-sweetened herbal tea, I have decided that is a good idea for me to imitate. It would be nice for me to have a weekly record of this fellowship, living on my own (and everything that goes with it), and my experiences of this small, German university town. I am not a big travel diary keeper, and whilst I don’t envision these weekly diaries turning into one, I’m keen to see what I end up with here.

For today, I have a picture and a kind deed.

WP_20150409_10_10_43_Pro

This car lies between my hostel and the university; I crossed it on my way down two days ago. I’ve never seen a quoting car before 🙂 That and the quote itself captured my attention. It speaks the truth. Reminds me of Pico Iyer’s autobiography (The Man Within My Head) where he speaks of being distrustful of words because he grew up around eloquence, a father for whom the words came easy (both his parents were college Professors; his father was a particularly well-appreciated one). I read those words on a train berth on my way to Aluva, Kerala and felt a moment of recognition. I am naturally cautious around smooth-talkers and overly articulate people. His words made me aware, in addition, of my own (written) verbosity. There is a vast world of communication that lies beyond words- and I don’t mean through body language and eloquence of the eyes. The most profound communication, I am realising more and more, comes in the silence and stillness of soul communication with God.

Being in a country where I do not speak the language, I am very aware of the kindness and patience of the local people with my inability to communicate in the local tongue-German. To give but one instance of already very many, a couple of days ago I asked a lady at the supermarket how one recovers the coin deposited to use a cart. She thought I was asking for a coin to deposit into a cart, and very sweetly pulled out fifty cents to give to me. We finally understood each other, but her easy generosity was incredibly heart-warming!

4 Responses to “The Sunday Diaries-1”

  1. Peter Wells aka Countingducks April 12, 2015 at 11:29 pm #

    OK, I’m going to have to check this out because I have clearly missed a post or two and didn’t realise you were now in Germany. What a fantastic adventure and I hope you find it a really rewarding adventure. My second book came out on the 10th, by the way. Now off to study past posts in your Blog and see what I’ve somehow missed

    • astudentinkolkata April 13, 2015 at 1:46 am #

      You actually did not miss anything 🙂 I did not explicitly declare I would be relocating though I did refer to it here and there.

      I’m here on a four month visiting fellowship. It was offered at our university, I applied and two of us are here based on a successful application (that sounds pompous!). Whilst here, I have proposed that I will write up two chapters and a paper. And that is what I need to produce to fulfil the ‘contract’.

      • astudentinkolkata April 13, 2015 at 1:47 am #

        I saw your second book had come out and had left a congratulatory message on your blog 🙂 Now that I am in Europe, I should have easier access to amazon and look forward to reading it.

  2. klarapopkin April 14, 2015 at 12:53 pm #

    Awww 🙂

Leave a Reply

