Archive | 2:31 am

The Sunday Diaries-2

20 Apr

In images, folks.

God has been such a good friend to me today. I was having a rather off-day and He stayed with me like a best friend would. And that has been the theme of the past twenty days. I had trouble meditating here for the first few days; my room felt bereft of a Godly presence. I wondered-worried-whether I’d be able to carry God in my thoughts like I do at home. But you see, I had a lesson to learn. A lesson that has been so lovingly given to me. A simple one-I’m almost embarrassed that I needed it in the first place- a lesson that God is, ahem, international. That I don’t leave God behind, when I leave India. I know that is so intellectually-but it is a whole different thing to know it at the level of self-realisation.

WP_20150415_11_38_33_Pro

One of the ways that God has been making His presence known to me is through the beautiful spring here. Cherry blossoms! Did I ever know I’d see them, in real life? That they’d make my throat catch with their beauty?

WP_20150415_11_40_42_Pro

Daisies, and other wild flowers, everywhere?

WP_20150416_09_49_23_Pro

(Tough days in the middle of the week when playing with gem-clips gives immense relief and joy?)

WP_20150418_12_55_56_Pro

Learning that those incredibly generous trees are flowering magnolias? I think the magnolias remind me most of God. The one photographed is not the best example of what I am trying to say; but magnolia blossoms capture your heart because of the way they gently open from the lowest of branches-at your level. You do not have to stretch on your toes or squint up against the sunlight to admire them. They come to you with their beauty.

WP_20150418_12_56_39_Pro

WP_20150418_12_57_26_Pro

The last two photographs are from the local botanical gardens. I decided to take a detour on my way downtown for my weekly groceries because, well, why not? Came across these little tunnels that led to greenhouses- which brought the Hogwarts greenhouses to mind. And-this beautiful (dead!) tree climbing up a building.

Gottingen, you are beautiful. And you broaden my heart and mind.