The end is nigh

18 Dec

Watercolours have never been my thing; I’ve always been more attracted to bold oils. When I would occasionally dig out my drawing books (that’s what I’ve always called them) I’d scoff at the delicate, washed out look produced by poster paints and choose to dip my brush directly into the bottles of paint and put bold layers on to the page. And paint over and over like multiple coats of nailpolish.

Until now, that is. I feel more drawn to the delicacy and the subtle shades that spread over a page when you use ‘em like you’re meant to.

I’ve been too lazy to drag myself out to the nearest mall to find Christmas cards this year, and based on past experience, I know that there is no guarantee I’d have found ones I liked even if I had exerted myself. I think I’ll just sit down with some drawing sheets and make myself some santa-hatted flowers as season’s greetings to friends.

Edited to add: I did end up making an excursion outside the batcave the next day and found a happy alternative.

Leave a Reply

